2017 Columbus Film Critics Association Awards

Official Press Release follows:

Columbus Film Critics Association logo

Lady Bird soars at 16th annual Columbus Film Critics Association awards

(Columbus, January 4, 2018) Greta Gerwig’s coming-of-age comedy Lady Bird has been named Best Film in the Columbus Film Critics Association’s 16th annual awards, which recognize excellence in the film industry for 2017. The film also claimed three other awards. Gerwig was honored as Best Director. Laurie Metcalf was recognized as Best Supporting Actress, and the cast was named Best Ensemble.

Columbus-area critics lauded Best Film runner-up Get Out with two awards: Breakthrough Film Artist and Best Original Screenplay for director Jordan Peele. The Shape of Water also won two awards: Best Actress Sally Hawkins and Best Score for Alexandre Desplat. Hawkins (Maudie and The Shape of Water) and Tracy Letts (Lady Bird, The Lovers, and The Post) tied for Actor of the Year, which acknowledges their exemplary bodies of work in 2017. Other individual performances commended for their achievements include Best Actor Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour) and Best Supporting Actor Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project).

Blade Runner 2049‘s Roger Deakins won Best Cinematography. Baby Driver‘s Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss garnered the prize for Best Film Editing. Virgil Williams and Dee Rees won Best Adapted Screenplay for Mudbound. Other winners include: Best Documentary Faces Places (Visages, villages); Best Foreign Language Film BPM (Beats per Minute) (120 battements par minute); Best Animated Film Coco; and The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected) as Best Overlooked Film.

Founded in 2002, the Columbus Film Critics Association, formerly the Central Ohio Film Critics Association, is comprised of film critics based in Columbus, Ohio and its surrounding areas. Its membership consists of 26 print, radio, television, and online critics. COFCA’s official website at www.cofca.org contains links to member reviews and past award winner. COFCA launched its redesigned site on January 4th, 2018.

Winners were announced at a private party on January 4.

Complete list of awards:

Best Film
1. Lady Bird
2. Get Out
3. The Shape of Water
4. The Big Sick
5. Blade Runner 2049
6. Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri
7. The Post
8. The Florida Project
9. Dunkirk
10. The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Best Director
-Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
-Runner-up: Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Actor
-Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour
-Runner-up: James Franco, The Disaster Artist

Best Actress
-Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
-Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Best Supporting Actor
-Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
-Runner-up: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Supporting Actress
-Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
-Runner-up: Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Best Ensemble
Lady Bird
-Runner-up: Mudbound

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)
-(Tie) Sally Hawkins (Maudie and The Shape of Water) and Tracy Letts (Lady Bird, The Lovers, and The Post)
-Runner-up: Woody Harrelson (The Glass Castle, Three Billboard outside Ebbing, Missouri, War for the Planet of the Apes, and Wilson)

Breakthrough Film Artist
-Jordan Peel, Get Out – (for directing and screenwriting)
-Runner-up: Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird – (for directing and screenwriting)

Best Cinematography
-Roger Deakins, Blade Runner 2049
-Runner-up: Dan Laustsen, The Shape of Water

Best Film Editing
-Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss, Baby Driver
-Runner-up: Lee Smith, Dunkirk

Best Adapted Screenplay
-Virgil Williams and Dee Rees, Mudbound
-Runner-up: Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, The Disaster Artist

Best Original Screenplay
-Jordan Peel, Get Out
-Runner-up: Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird

Best Score
-Alexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water
-Runner-up: Banjamin Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer, Blade Runner 2049

Best Documentary
Faces Places (Visages, villages)
-Runner-up: Jane

Best Foreign Language Film
BPM (Beats per Minute) (120 battements par minute)
-Runner-up: The Square

Best Animated Film
-Runner-up: Loving Vincent

Best Overlooked Film
The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)
-Runner-up: Wind River

COFCA offers its congratulations to the winners.

Previous Best Film winners:
2002: Punch-Drunk Love
2003: Lost in Translation
2004: Million Dollar Baby
2005: A History of Violence
2006: Children of Men
2007: No Country for Old Men
2008: WALL-E
2009: Up in the Air
2010: Inception
2011: Drive
2012: Moonrise Kingdom
2013: Gravity
2014: Selma
2015: Spotlight
2016: La La Land

For more information about the Columbus Film Critics Association, please visit www.cofca.org or e-mail info@cofca.org.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s